Hiddink eases Costa injury fears

Sunday, January 24, 2016 - 20:14
0
Diego Costa

© Getty Images - Diego Costa

The knee injury sustained by match-winner Diego Costa in the 1-0 victory away to Arsenal on Sunday is not too serious, according to the Blues boss

Chelsea manager Guus Hiddink has played down injury fears over Diego Costa, who was replaced in the second half of Sunday's 1-0 Premier League victory at Arsenal.

Costa was a central figure in the key moments at Emirates Stadium, first drawing the professional foul which saw Per Mertesacker sent off in the 18th minute, before netting the winning goal shortly afterwards.

The Spain striker left the action in the 68th minute with an apparent knee injury, before Chelsea held out under late pressure from the 10 men to extend their unbeaten league run over Arsenal to nine matches.

When asked about the injury, Hiddink told Sky Sports: "We'll see. We'll make some scans but I don't think it's very, very serious."

Cesc Fabregas said after the match he feels he is returning to his best form after struggling earlier in the campaign, and Hiddink was in agreement with his midfielder.

"He is strategically very strong and when you have him you can start playing football and of course he knows himself as the best," the Dutchman added.

"I'm happy when he says he's growing in his shape and that's true.

"I'm proud of the guys who performed as they did. We had a good first half and played well, second half we played okay, although we could have materialised it more than 1-0."

Victory lifted Chelsea to 13th, still 14 points off fourth place and qualification for next season's Champions League.

"We were unbeaten but it was not satisfying," Hiddink said. "This is a step to try and go on that path.

"It's a big gap. The team knows it's a big gap and I want to see the ambition of the team always there."

Source: Goal.com


Main Link in Varzesh11: Hiddink eases Costa injury fears

Comments

0 / 0

Post a Comment
Name:
Email:
Your Comment:
Your comment was successfully Sumbit.
* Note: Your message has been submitted and approved within a few minutes after release is supported sites. *
ad
ad

Diego Costa Latest News

Football Transfers
- Sunday, July 9, 2017- 13:58
English FA Cup
- Monday, March 14, 2016 - 22:02
Chelsea
- Friday, March 11, 2016 - 16:39
Chelsea
- Wednesday, March 9, 2016 - 14:12
Chelsea
- Friday, March 4, 2016 - 16:55
Euro 2016
- Tuesday, March 1, 2016 - 13:19
Atletico Madrid
- Tuesday, February 16, 2016 - 18:48
Football Transfers
- Thursday, February 4, 2016 - 19:05
Chelsea
- Wednesday, February 3, 2016 - 23:56
Football Transfers
- Wednesday, February 3, 2016 - 08:36
Football Transfers
- Sunday, January 31, 2016 - 09:04
English Premier League
- Tuesday, January 26, 2016 - 14:59
Chelsea
- Sunday, January 24, 2016 - 20:14
Arsenal
- Sunday, January 24, 2016 - 19:42
Chelsea
- Friday, January 22, 2016 - 15:57
Chelsea
- Thursday, January 21, 2016 - 18:11
Chelsea
- Saturday, January 16, 2016 - 19:01
Chelsea
- Thursday, January 14, 2016 - 08:38
Chelsea
- Friday, January 8, 2016 - 15:09
Chelsea
- Saturday, December 26, 2015 - 20:14
Football Transfers
- Tuesday, December 22, 2015 - 06:35
Chelsea
- Monday, December 14, 2015 - 07:12
Chelsea
- Thursday, December 10, 2015 - 09:05
Chelsea
- Thursday, December 10, 2015 - 06:10
Chelsea
- Wednesday, November 25, 2015 - 10:49
Chelsea
- Sunday, November 22, 2015 - 07:33
Spain
- Saturday, November 14, 2015 - 09:29
Chelsea
- Saturday, November 7, 2015 - 22:36
Chelsea
- Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 08:28
Chelsea
- Friday, October 23, 2015 - 15:38
Spain
- Wednesday, October 7, 2015 - 09:59
Chelsea
- Thursday, September 24, 2015 - 13:10
Arsenal
- Tuesday, September 22, 2015 - 18:55
Arsenal
- Tuesday, September 22, 2015 - 16:16
Chelsea
- Tuesday, September 22, 2015 - 11:50
English Premier League
- Monday, September 21, 2015 - 18:50
Chelsea
- Monday, September 21, 2015 - 18:35
Arsenal
- Saturday, September 19, 2015 - 16:07
Chelsea
- Thursday, September 17, 2015 - 18:45
Chelsea
- Thursday, September 17, 2015 - 15:50
Chelsea
- Wednesday, September 9, 2015 - 14:08
Spain
- Sunday, September 6, 2015 - 20:00
Spain
- Saturday, September 5, 2015 - 08:06
Chelsea
- Thursday, September 3, 2015 - 10:13
Spain
- Wednesday, September 2, 2015 - 14:27
Chelsea
- Thursday, August 6, 2015 - 00:51
Chelsea
- Saturday, July 25, 2015 - 00:25
Chelsea
- Friday, July 3, 2015 - 19:33
ad

Related Links

All Rights Reserved This site is owned Varzesh11.com, Any copying without mentioning the name and link to the source is illegal and can be prosecuted.
Copyright © 2015 - Designed by Webparseh.com